PHOTOS : Dreams FC 1-3 Asante Kotoko: Isaac Oppong & Lamptey’s debut goals win the day for Porcupine Warriors

The Porcupine Warriors rallied from behind to defeat Still Believe lads at the Accra Sports Stadium with three late goals


Asante defeated Dreams FC 3-1 in the opening day game of 2021/22 Ghana Premier League season at the Accra Sports Stadium on Saturday.

A goal from Ghana forward Abdul Fatawu Issahaku was all that the hosts, who were playing far away from home, needed to have a good start but three late goals from Mudasiru Salifu, Isaac Oppong and Richmond Lamptey turned the game on its head for Kotoko

Kotoko coach Prosper Ogum Narteh started the game with a 4-3-3 formation which had goalkeeper Razak Abalora in post ahead of Kwame Baah and Ibrahim Danlad.

Christopher Nettey, Patrick Asmah, Abdul Ganiu and Mubarak Yussif were deployed as the back four while Mudasiru Salifu, Joseph Amoako and Richmond Lamptey started in midfield.

The trio of Fabio Gama, Samuel Boateng and Stephen Amankonah will lead the attack for the Porcupine Warriors.

After exchanges in the opening minutes, Kotoko almost shot into the lead when a shot from Amankonah was saved by Dreams goalkeeper Akwasi Agbesi by the ninth minute.

Five minutes later, Fabio Gama cut in from the right side of the attack and sent in a powerful shot but his effort was saved.

After the break, Dreams pushed men forward for the opener but failed to find a breach in Kotoko’s defence.

However, Issahaku finally got the opener by the 63rd minute for Dreams after a defensive blunder from Kotoko’s back line.

Kotoko equalised through Mudasiru 85th minute before Isaac Oppong made it 2-1 two minutes later against the run of play

Richmond Lamptey sealed the win for Kotoko deep in additional time with a calm finish.

Kotoko will now head back to Kumasi to prepare for their first home game of the season against Bechem United at the Baba Yara Sports Stadium next weekend.

Asante Kotoko XI:

Razak Abalora, Christopher Nettey, Patrick Asmah, Abdul Ganiu Ismail, Yussif Mubarik, Mudasiru Salifu, Samuel Boateng, Joseph Amoako, Richmond Lamptey, Fabio Gama, Stephen Amankonah